Author:Andrew Beato

CEO, Chief Editor and founder of Intentious. Passionate comment enthusiast, amateur philosopher, Quora contributor, audiobook and general knowledge addict.

Subscribe to Intentious

Be notified by email whenever new pieces are posted by the blogging team tackling controversial current events or issues.

28 Comments on “How do I get my parents to let me quit this gay Kumon bullshit?”

  1. March 7, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    I think this article misses the point about one of the central tenants of Kumon and the apparent superiority of students from asia-

    the importance of the emphasis of speed, accuracy and repetition (it doesn’t matter if you understand particle physics if you cannot articulate it quickly on your undergraduate exam!). In order to understand several mathematical concepts, it is important to be able to do and appreciate complex calculations from first principles. Not everyone is born to be a lightning calculator, but being able to reflexively calculate tip or add up your change in the supermarket is important.

    Not only that, the accuracy and repetition are a doorway to higher learning, just like learning another language is. In Kumon particularly, emphasis is given on repeating the core fundamentals of a given skill. It is boring, repetitive and seemingly pointless BUT the most mundane and everyday parts of any human endeavour often are

    I did Kumon in my time and I hated it. Nevertheless, given my time again I would have given it more effort had I known the importance of it later in life, and the doors that it would open. It is the same tragedy as allowing a child to forget their mother tongue.

  2. March 20, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    I found an excellent math tutoring service that is new and seems to have a lot of promise. Its called Tabtor and its being used in our local library. The material is administered through iPads. My son has been using it now for over 5 months and he absolutely loves it. There is a physical tutor behind each student and they give you a weekly parent/teacher conference. Its great, and the work is personlaized to my son. I couldn’t ask for more. Its way cheaper and can be done from anywhere. You dont have to leave the house and the results are amazing.

    Their website is http://www.tabtor.com

    and i saw this video on line which explains it better

    youtu.be/48VmnZxZ74c

  3. D
    March 26, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    Well said Richard, I went through Kumon for a while as a kid. It was godawful, but it definitely made me better at arithmetic, which meant I could focus on more complex aspects of mathematics.

    That said, it doesn’t make a lot of sense for teenagers. Kumon was beneficial for me from around ages seven to ten because the math being taught in school was very basic, and Kumon got me ahead of the system. Once in high school though, you need to be at one of the top levels for it to be useful for your schoolwork.

  4. Doodledoo
    May 12, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    You probably just didn’t do your part well that’s why you hate it so much. You shouldn’t blame others for your own wrongdoing.

  5. Anonymous
    October 2, 2016 at 2:36 am #

    I’m in h I’m never getting out alive

  6. Anonymous
    November 3, 2016 at 5:54 pm #

    Dear writer,

    I’m 15 and am stuck doing fraction work in Kumon, and I can’t see the point of repeating the same thing over and over again and prioritising this pathetic maths program over my actual schoolwork.

    I was always ahead in maths, and scored the top percentage in my class in term 3 exams this year. I did not see a single fraction on thr exam, and mainly saw trigonometry, indices and volume. We were allowed a calculator, so my arithmetic skill had minimal benifit on me. I feel like Kumon is a complete waste of time and money and wish I had more time to focus on other homework, instead of wasting away doing the same repetitive, dull and boring maths Kumon teaches us.

    • Hello
      March 27, 2017 at 12:00 am #

      I have 4 Kumor packets in h and I just randomly pick 5 pages. And change the pages order. I don’t have to do 5 pages of that shit. Hope it helps a bit for you with this tactic. They are to lazy to investigate but if you make it obvious you have to redo the packet.

  7. Anonymous
    November 12, 2016 at 10:21 am #

    man im in j and i hate it. doing my best to get out

    • deez nuts 🥜
      February 26, 2017 at 3:54 am #

      What the fuck is j?

      • Preston Dignoras
        March 25, 2017 at 2:19 am #

        j is one of the high levels in kumon, basically around high school math

      • Jenny Skillz savage
        March 30, 2017 at 7:58 am #

        Who cares about fucking j?

      • cutemomkosavage@getalife.com
        April 14, 2017 at 6:59 am #

        I like your username. I gave Kumon the middle finger

  8. December 15, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

    I don’t think I agree with this article too much. Before I begin, I should let you know that I’m currently enrolled in Kumon. I just passed my level O test and just started XV (vectors), so trust me- I know the system inside out. If you think or believe that doing Kumon is taking precious time away from homework time, you are wrong. If you tell me that you do 8 hours of homework every day, you’re lying. I’m currently in the 12th grade and have a 94% average and I thank it all to Kumon. (Midterm marks were 98 Advanced functions, 97 Data Management, 93 Chemistry and 86 English.) It has taught me a lot of essential skills such as learning independently. I find that the Kumon booklets are very well designed. (After level L they are ok), they give students enough time and practice to master skills. If you think that I was good at math since day one, you’re wrong. I was a failing student in grade 7, low to mid 60’s is where I stood. When I started Kumon, my math mark started to rise, eventually I told myself, “if I could raise my math mark, why not other courses”, and that is how I started to improve in all subjects. Obviously, Kumon is not for everyone, but I would say that, if you stick with it, understand all problems and their solution, you will learn to love math. Math is beautiful. Btw I passed by O test by getting 15/16.

    • CarlyTomodachigamer
      February 26, 2017 at 3:48 am #

      Math is not fucking beautiful, bitch! Get a freaking life! Everything you said is bullshit.

    • Emmy
      April 25, 2017 at 7:02 am #

      YOU ARE A FUCKING NERD! Get a new life because the one you have now is screwed. Like you. Deez 🥜

  9. Anonymous
    February 25, 2017 at 10:23 am #

    I go to kumon and I think this:this bullshit will not have it!! No way! I need to f***ing quit!!!!!

  10. Serena the savage
    February 25, 2017 at 10:24 am #

    Kumon is stupid gay shit that I don’t need

    • Dawn
      February 25, 2017 at 10:26 am #

      Yeah thx Serena

  11. Dawn
    February 25, 2017 at 10:26 am #

    I say what Serena said.

  12. Mayplaysrobloxalot
    February 25, 2017 at 10:29 am #

    Things I learned in kumon: …………..blah….. bullshit…..f*** this place

  13. KillerBonnie
    February 25, 2017 at 10:30 am #

    What may said. Totally.

  14. ClaraBabyPanda@savageanimals
    February 26, 2017 at 3:52 am #

    That top article? I agree. But how is kumon gay? I mean, it could be lesbian! 😂

  15. Daniel G.
    March 25, 2017 at 2:25 am #

    kumon is gay and repetitive. my parents put me there at the beginning of 8th grade, im only a few months in and im only in fractions. what use is that when im in 8th grade math. 8TH GRADE MATH!!! I get a question wrong and the call my name to collect my packet, and they don’t even explain what I did wrong, they’re just like oh you got this wrong and I have to figure out what I did wrong because i’m not that good on fractions. Kumon is useless until I get on my grade level in math, which will never happen. by the time i reach 8th grade math i’ll be in high school. Kumon is gay and it’s just flat out useless

    • Daniel G.
      March 25, 2017 at 2:28 am #

      and often kumon is just easy, a waste of time for 120$ a month. Even though im not that good in fractions i go through it and it only takes me about 40 minutes. It would be better if i was doing 8th grade math there and actually getting tutored rather than repeating fractions, because i already got the hang of it now, so it’s completely useless

  16. Jenny Skillz savage
    March 30, 2017 at 7:56 am #

    The bitch who invented kumon is going to be KILLED some day. Unless the bitch is already dead because it is probably a hag who is a son/daughter of a bitch.

  17. Lilylovesdogs
    April 1, 2017 at 11:29 pm #

    Kumon is fucking bullshit! My mom enrolled me in 2012, when I was 6! I’m eleven now but I am in this bullshit they call “h”. I’m only in 5th grade! It’s a retarded piece of crap!

  18. cutemomkosavage@getalife.com
    April 14, 2017 at 6:57 am #

    KUMON IS DA MOST RETARDED THING TO DO BECAUSE MATH IS FUCKING RETARDED. I WANT TO SEE THE USELESS MOTHERFUCKING BITCH WHO CREATED KUMON:THE NEW JUVIE.

  19. Emmy
    April 25, 2017 at 7:00 am #

    I WANT TO TASTE THIS FUUUUUUUCK FROM KUMON! I am gonna get banned from this site someday for writing fucking cuss words because I am savage lmao 😂.

Leave a comment

