Japanese have bombed multiple Australian cities during war

Alongside the famous attack on Darwin during World War II, the city of Broome was also attacked, with 88 people killed (no Australians) on the 3rd of March 1942. If you didn’t know that, don’t worry, neither did I. What’s really going to raise your eyebrows is the following information:

There were 97 air attacks by the Japanese on Australian Military/towns/Cities throughout World War Two.

Darwin was actually bombed on 64 occasions during the war.

The other Australian Cities/Towns attacked during the ‘Battle For Australia‘ during World War Two were: Wyndham, Port Hedland, Derby, Katherine, Townsville and Mossman amongst many others.

Don’t believe me? See the Australian War Memorial Website: http://www.awm.gov.au/units/event_59.asp
Further reading is at Anzacday.org.au: http://www.anzacday.org.au/history/ww2/bfa/attack.html

The interesting thing I would like to point out is that they never taught me this amazing Australian War fact as part of history at school. Was I not listening, or is this purposefully omitted? I would love to know if any schools teach/taught this at all.

The next question in my (and your) head is why not? There are so many unknown Aussie deaths on home soil that so few Australians today remember. Most school students are taught about D-Day, The Darwin bombing and the Battle of Britain. But why not all these other attacks? Even just a brief mention?

I have spoken to a number people about this and every person thought that Australia was only bombed twice: at Darwin. All Australians should know this. I realise that there were massive battles fought at the same time, but we should not forget that these battles were fought on Australian soil.

I’d love to hear what you all have to say.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Events, People, Politics, Law

Author:Aaron Hackett

Novelist copywriter Online Business Marketing Editor for Intentious.com Online Marketing

Subscribe to Intentious

Be notified by email whenever new pieces are posted by the blogging team tackling controversial current events or issues.

4 Comments on “Japanese have bombed multiple Australian cities during war”

  1. Alice
    June 28, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    It’s not just you, I’m currently in Year 12 and we have never been taught about any Japanese attacks on Australia. I only knew about the bombing of Darwin (which I thought was only once) and I was so surprised to last year learn that they had actually attacked in Sydney harbour too. Not only that but there were actually Japanese submarines off the coast next my town on the far north coast of NSW. I’m very interested in history too, so it’s not due to disinterest and not listening in class.
    I find it very strange that we have learnt in detail about far less important things like Australia being part of SEATO and APEC in Australian History but we haven’t learnt about Australia’s perspective of World War II. Perhaps the government doesn’t want to stir up any racial ill feeling, but if that’s the case it’s an absolutely ridiculous reason.

  2. Paul
    November 23, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Yes, I think these things should be taught in schools. But there is a thing called ‘Political Correctness’ I think that stops it. Let’s not upset anyone :(.
    The Japanese were working on the Atomic Bomb as were the Germans. If they had dropped it on us would history as written by the Japanese be crying about it or would they be celebrating?
    It is interesting to look up about a very large submarine the Germans sent to Japan when they knew they were ablout to lose the war. It contained their latest plans for an A-bomb as well as latest Jet planes. It was sunk on the way though.

  3. November 24, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    You’re right, Paul. Schools are becomming far to PC, too the point where important information like this is not taught and barely remembered.

    At the end of the day it’s all about who has the power. It seems as though the Japanese government may have even asked the Aus Gov to censor this information. But, as mere plebs we may never know.

    When you look into this deeper on Google, there are so few articles written about it. Very sad in my opinion…

  4. Anonymous
    November 26, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Wow!!! Alice, I was in high school in the seventies and early eighties and , like yourself, was a very attentive history student who would not have missed these facts had they been taught. I am amazed that you seem to have been taught no more than I was!
    I just watched a show on the ABC called Crocker Island Exodus about 95 Aboriginal children who travelled from Crocker Island near Darwin all the way to Sydney to escape the Japanese attacks. Their memoirs alerted me to the idea that Australia suffered many more attacks than I, and everyone else I know, had been led to believe.

Leave a comment

