Scoupon = BULLSHITTIN’ YOU

“Normally $100!” …this claim is what ropes people into deals. However, Scoupon don’t seem to bother checking the validity of the supposed “discounts” before letting advertisers broker deals on their site. Take this example: Shine car wash gives you two Prestige Washes for $39, and Scoupon says it’s a 61% discount because you’d normally pay $100! However, on visiting the Shine website itself, you find that a Prestige Wash is only $42, making the discount for two washes only 46%. Still better than nothing, but the exaggeration and downright untruth of the claim is there. If this kind of practice is rife throughout the Scoupon website, I can see them losing all credibility, very fast.

I forwarded this in an email to Scoupon’s customer feedback, customerservice@scoopon.com.au, and we shall see if they give us the courtesy of a response.

A Prestige Wash is actually $42, making this deal an exaggeration.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Business

Author:Andrew Beato

CEO, Chief Editor and founder of Intentious. Passionate comment enthusiast, amateur philosopher, Quora contributor, audiobook and general knowledge addict.

Subscribe to Intentious

Be notified by email whenever new pieces are posted by the blogging team tackling controversial current events or issues.

13 Comments on “Scoupon = BULLSHITTIN’ YOU”

  1. Troy
    April 13, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Maybe the coffees are $8 each 🙂

  2. Emma
    July 11, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Did you get a response?

    • July 14, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      Alas, no, I never did get a response. But I randomly checked a few different types of offered deals to see if they added up in the weeks that followed, and they pretty much did, give or take $5-$10… so maybe this particular one was just dodgy.

  3. bridget
    September 29, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    I went and had a mani/pedi at Padbury Beauty and the deal was advertised to be worth $91. I paid $29 and when I got there I asked why my feet weren’t being buffed and they said ‘Oh no this is just the $29 deal, that doesn’t include that’. I mean WTF??? Isn’t that the whole point!! I guess you only get what you pay for.

    • October 1, 2011 at 2:53 am #

      I’m hearing a few of these “false price” “not as advertised” stories coming out about coupon sites more often now… has anyone else out there got an example they can share? Let’s compile a few. I may do a follow up piece eventually.

  4. Lisa
    December 15, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    I bought a pair of pillows that were said to be worth $127 for $29 plus shipping,called ultra deluxe blah blah.

    They were cheap and nasty, could have gotten better pillows from the supermarket.for less than that.

  5. Anonymous
    December 18, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    that’s the issue with all of these deal sites, but then again, it’s the same issue with super markets. Whenever there’s a sale, they always list the maximum retail price that no one would in their right mind try to sell at.

  6. Anonymous
    December 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I’ve used Groupon and so far no problems. The thing is you got to research before you buy. Research the deal but also research the company offering the deal to make sure it’s all on the up and also that they’re not just trying to offload crap. I always like to read online reviews of the companies I’m purchasing from. Also make sure to triple check that fine print cause that can really catch you out.

  7. Leith Wanless
    January 24, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    I have not been able to use several vouchers and have lost a fair amount by just not being able to book when it suits for treatments, acccommodation and restaurants. The last voucher had 2 months to go on it when I contacted Scoupon to ask could I just have a credit (not a refund) as I can’t use the accommodation voucher on the weekends which when I don’t work. $150 down the drain too bad so sad they said. I have emailed them several times. I definitely will not be buying these vouchers ever again. It’s just a legal form of theft.

  8. Lee Blackie
    March 16, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    I bought a deal on “Spreets” on 16.01.12 some 8 weeks later I still have not received my 2 steam garmet machines. So I have 8 weeks worth of emails requesting my orders be filled if not just refund my money.I tried ringing Spreets with no answer, I tried ringing MIA with no answer, all I have is weeks of emails stating thanks for my patience, I feel ripped off. The machines were bought in Oz via a company called MIA (really not a joke) to be posted in Oz. Spreets just sent me a tracking number to track it via Australia Post, here is the surprise Australia post tell me there is no match in their system. Spreets have stated in their emails they would not refund my money. When I receive my orders I can try and recoup a refund. Good to see customer service is alive and well in Oz. So what do I do? Here is the joke! they tell me they sold 14,000 units to Spreets customers, without fulfiling our orders some 8 weeks later, then 3 weeks ago MIA put a deal to “Groupon” customers to buy the same deal. Clearly I’am not alone.

    • March 16, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      The online coupon industry is now covered by a self-regulating standard which, if not adhered to, you can take up with a call to the ACCC or Ombudsman. Place a call with them and get their advice, they will hopefully give you a case number, and then contact Spreets on your behalf. If they don’t comply, they get fined.

  9. April 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I too am waiting for an order placed three weeks ago! Kinda wishing I’d read these first now :/

    • Lee Blackie
      April 9, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      Dear Ame,

      Andrew Beato gave me my best advise, i contacted consumer affairs and lodged a case with them. It was magic!!! Some 4 days later I received a call from consumer affairs with the news that my money is to be refunded into my account, they were so professional and efficient. I then got a call from the “Spreets” accountant, saying the money is being deposited into my account, and it was. Prior to this I lodged a dispute of payment with my bank “Bankwest” who stated that it could take up to 8 weeks to get it attended to via the banking system, maybe longer quite the joke really. As a last ditched effort I rang “Spreets” customer support and stated verbally please send an email to their upper management that this action is pending with consumer affairs.
      I can tell you I’am happy with the outcome but it does speak volumes of the lack and the value of customer service. This will translate to damage to their brand. Thanks Andrew for your advice it was brillant, good luck Ame I hope this helps.

Leave a comment

